The project

An interdisciplinary research on historical herbaria

The project: “Botanical legacies from the Enlightenment: unexplored collections and texts at the crossroads between the humanities and the sciences” (SNF project nr. 186227) focuses on the botanical collections of Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778), Jean-Baptiste-Christian Fusée-Aublet (1723-1778), Jean-Frédéric Chaillet (1747-1839), and several of their contemporaries. The project views 18th century botany as a body of knowledge and of practices in which a diverse range of actors were involved. The research team is examining the historical and scientific value of ancient herbaria, and the possibilities of providing these complex collections online.

The research is centred on botanists of diverse backgrounds and is divided in three subprojects.

The first focuses on Rousseau’s herbaria and the specimens that the philosopher collected or obtained from other botanists, including Fusée-Aublet. By combining botany, history, and information technology, the aim is to reconstruct these collections, currently dispersed, in the form of a database and a virtual herbarium that will be available online.

Based on Fusée-Aublet, the second subproject focuses on botanists travelling to the Americas. In terms of history, it explores the construction of a body of knowledge about the West Indies, and questions the agenda of colonial botany managed from Paris. In terms of science, the project aims to identify which of the specimens among Aublet’s collections were used to describe species and genera new to science in his book Histoire des plantes de la Guiane françoise (1775).

Finally, the third sub-project investigates botanical sciences at a regional scale. It focuses on naturalists from Neuchâtel who first introduced Rousseau to botany. These include Jean-Antoine d’Ivernois (1703-1765) and Abraham Gagnebin (1707-1800), and particularly Chaillet, who played an important role in the study of flora in Switzerland at the turn of the 19th century.

This interdisciplinary and collaborative project combines the skills of botanists, science historians, and specialists of historical scientific literature. The project is supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation (“Sinergia” programme) and was launched at the University of Neuchâtel in 2020. It forms the core of a reflection on the alliance between science and literature in the 18th century. Further details about the different research projects, as well as publications and updates, and information about the research team are provided on this site.

Research projects

The project follows three axes and is centred around different botanists active in the 18th and early 19th centuries.

Rousseau's herbaria

Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) studied botany intensively during the last fifteen years of his life, leaving behind him rich manuscripts and hundreds of plant specimens. One part of this project is dedicated to the study of these manuscripts and to the creation of a virtual herbarium, which will bring together all these collections online.

Fusée-Aublet
and the scientific journey

Jean-Baptiste-Christian Fusée-Aublet (1723-1778) travelled to and lived in Île de France (Mauritius) and French Guiana. He is considered an authority in tropical botany. One focus of this project is the inventory of his herbarium, the reconstruction of his networks, and the study of his methods.

Chaillet and the Neuchâtel flora

In the Principality of Neuchâtel, botany was established by scientists such as Laurent Garcin (c. 1683-1751), Jean-Antoine d’Ivernois (1703-1765), and Abraham Gagnebin (1707-1800). In continuation, Captain Jean-Frédéric Chaillet (1747-1839) completed the inventory of the local flora and created a large herbarium. One focus of the project concerns their work and the study of botany on a regional scale.

News

You will find here the scientific events associated with the project, and the list of publications by its collaborators. A biannual newsletter provides news and an overview of ongoing research.

Team

Direction

Jason Grant
Applicant, principal investigator, botany

Nathalie Vuillemin
Applicant, co-investigator, literature



Address

Université de Neuchâtel
Institut de biologie
Projet Botanical Legacies
Rue Émile-Argand 11
CH-2000 Neuchâtel

Transversal positions

Pierre-Emmanuel DuPasquier
Coordinator, scientific collaborator, botany

Timothée Léchot
Coordinator, scientific collaborator, literature

Jämes Ménétrey
Scientific collaborator, computer science

Rousseau's herbaria

Christof Beutler
Trainee, computer science

Alexandra Cook
Scientific partner, history of botany

Takuya Kobayashi
Scientific partner, history of botany

Dorothée Rusque
Scientific collaborator, history

Jérémy Tritz
Scientific collaborator, botany

Fusée-Aublet and the scientific journey

Perrine Besson
PhD student, literature

Piero Delprete
Scientific partner, botany

Guilhem Mansion
Scientific collaborator, botany

Thibaud Martinetti
Postdoctoral fellow, literature

Chaillet and the Neuchâtel flora

Rossella Baldi
Scientific collaborator, history

Edouard Di Maio
Scientific collaborator, botany

Philippe Druart
Scientific collaborator, botany

Stéphanie Morelon
PhD student, botany

Mathias Vust
Scientific collaborator, botany

Le projet

Une recherche interdisciplinaire sur des herbiers historiques

Le projet « Héritages botaniques des Lumières : exploration de sources et d’herbiers historiques à l’intersection des lettres et des sciences » (projet FNS no 186227) porte sur les collections botaniques de Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778), Jean-Baptiste-Christophe Fusée-Aublet (1723-1778), Jean-Frédéric Chaillet (1747-1839) et plusieurs de leurs contemporains. Il envisage la botanique du XVIIIe siècle comme un ensemble de savoirs et de pratiques qui mobilisent différents types d’acteurs. L’équipe de chercheurs interroge la valeur historique et scientifique des herbiers anciens, et les possibilités de présenter en ligne ces collections complexes.

Centrée sur des botanistes aux profils complémentaires, la recherche se décline en trois sous-projets :

Le premier s’intéresse aux herbiers de Rousseau et aux spécimens que le philosophe a récoltés ou obtenus auprès d’autres botanistes, parmi lesquels Fusée-Aublet. Un travail alliant botanique, histoire et informatique permettra de reconstituer ces collections, aujourd’hui dispersées, sous la forme d’une base de données et d’un herbier virtuel consultable en ligne.

À partir du cas de Fusée-Aublet, le second sous-projet concerne les botanistes voyageurs qui partent pour l’Amérique. Sur le plan historique, il explore la construction d’un savoir des Antilles et le programme d’une botanique coloniale dirigé depuis Paris. Sur le plan scientifique, il ambitionne notamment de désigner parmi les collections d’Aublet les échantillons d’herbier ayant servi aux descriptions d’espèces et de genres nouveaux pour la science, consignées dans son Histoire des plantes de la Guiane françoise (1775).

Enfin, le troisième sous-projet envisage la botanique à une échelle régionale. Il porte sur les naturalistes neuchâtelois qui ont initié Rousseau à la botanique, tels que Jean-Antoine d’Ivernois (1703-1765) et Abraham Gagnebin (1707-1800), et plus particulièrement sur Chaillet qui joue un rôle important dans l’étude de la flore helvétique au tournant du XIXe siècle.

Interdisciplinaire et collectif, le projet rassemble les compétences de botanistes, d’historiens des sciences et d’historiens de la littérature spécialisés dans l’étude des écrits scientifiques. Soutenu par le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (instrument « Sinergia ») et lancé à l’Université de Neuchâtel en 2020, il constitue le noyau d’une réflexion sur l’alliance des sciences et des lettres au XVIIIe siècle. Vous trouverez sur ce site une présentation plus détaillée des axes de recherche, les publications et actualités du projet et la composition de l’équipe.

Axes de recherche

Le projet suit trois axes et s’articule autour de différents botanistes actifs au XVIIIe et au début du XIXe siècles.

Les herbiers de Rousseau

Jean-Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778) pratique intensément la botanique pendant les quinze dernières années de sa vie, laissant derrière lui de riches manuscrits et des centaines de spécimens végétaux. Un axe du projet est consacré à leur étude et à la constitution d’un herbier virtuel qui rassemblera en ligne l’ensemble de ses collections.

Fusée-Aublet
et le voyage scientifique

Ayant séjourné à l’Île de France et en Guyane, Jean-Baptiste-Christophe Fusée-Aublet (1723-1778) est un auteur de référence dans le domaine de la botanique tropicale. Un axe du projet vise l’inventorisation de son herbier, la reconstitution de son réseau et l’étude de ses méthodes.

Chaillet et la flore neuchâteloise

Dans la Principauté de Neuchâtel, la botanique se développe sous l’impulsion de savants comme Laurent Garcin (né vers 1683, mort en 1751), Jean-Antoine d’Ivernois (1703-1765) et Abraham Gagnebin (1707-1800). Dans leur prolongement, le capitaine Jean-Frédéric Chaillet (1747-1839) complète l’inventaire de la flore locale et constitue un important herbier. Un axe du projet porte sur leurs travaux et sur la pratique de la botanique à l’échelle régionale.

Actualités

Vous trouverez ici les événements scientifiques liés au projet et la liste des publications de ses collaborateurs. Une lettre d’information semestrielle résume ces actualités et offre un aperçu des recherches en cours.

Équipe

Direction

Jason Grant
Requérant, botanique

Nathalie Vuillemin
Requérante, littérature



Adresse

Université de Neuchâtel
Institut de biologie
Projet Botanical Legacies
Rue Émile-Argand 11
CH-2000 Neuchâtel

Postes transversaux

Pierre-Emmanuel DuPasquier
Coordinateur, collaborateur scientifique, botanique

Timothée Léchot
Coordinateur, collaborateur scientifique, littérature

Jämes Ménétrey
Collaborateur scientifique, informatique

Les herbiers de Rousseau

Alexandra Cook
Partenaire scientifique, histoire de la botanique

Takuya Kobayashi
Partenaire scientifique, histoire de la botanique

Dorothée Rusque
Collaboratrice scientifique, histoire

Jérémy Tritz
Collaborateur scientifique, botanique

Fusée-Aublet et le voyage scientifique

Perrine Besson
Doctorante, littérature

Piero Delprete
Partenaire scientifique, botanique

Guilhem Mansion
Collaborateur scientifique, botanique

Thibaud Martinetti
Postdoctorant, littérature

Chaillet et la flore neuchâteloise

Rossella Baldi
Collaboratrice scientifique, histoire

Edouard Di Maio
Collaborateur scientifique, botanique

Philippe Druart
Collaborateur scientifique, botanique

Stéphanie Morelon
Doctorante, botanique

Mathias Vust
Collaborateur scientifique, botanique